Home > Members Only > Employment Relations > National Employment Standards

National Employment Standards

The following information are national requirements for employers under the Fair Work Act 2009: 

National Employment Standards: Minimum Conditions from 1 January 2010 applying to ALL employees.
NOTE: Employers are required to have a copy of the National Employment Standardsin their workplace.
The National Employment Standards comprise of 10 minimum standards of employment. These relate to:
  1. Maximum weekly hours of work
  2. Requests for flexible working arrangements
  3. Parental leave and related entitlements
  4. Annual leave
  5. Personal/ carer’s leave and compassionate leave
  6. Community service leave
  7. Long service leave
  8. Public holidays
  9. Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  10. Provision of a Fair Work Information Statement.
Fair Work Information Statement -The Fair Work Ombudsman has released the Fair Work Information Statement, as part of the provision under the National Employment Standards.
NOTE: From 1 January 2010, ALL employers are required to provide a copy of the Fair Work Information Statement to ALL new employees as soon as practical after the employment commences.
NEW Family & Domestic Violence Leave added to the NES
 Download Unpaid Family and Domestic Violence Leave to Form Part of the National Employment Standards.pdf